POWWW is a not-for-profit conservation organization and land trust based in Denville, New Jersey. Our mission is to protect the wetlands, woodlands and potable water supplies throughout the Beaver Brook watershed in Denville, Rockaway and Boonton Townships. We identify and support land acquisition, provide site stewardship and offer public education programs.


Identification of conservation properties, fundraising, and grant writing.



Trail development, trail maintenance and blazing working in conjunction with Morris County Park Commission.



Guided hikes and environmental education programs for children and adults.


Some History

In 2001, POWWW acted in partnership with NJ Fish and Wildlife, the Morris County Park Commission, the Morris County Municipal Utilities Authority (MCMUA), Denville Township and Green Acres to acquire and preserve 435 acres of the former Jersey City watershed, now known as Jonathan's Woods. Additional properties have been added since 2001, making a total of over 600 acres. The land is now the property of the NJ Fish and Wildlife Department and the Morris County Park Commission and will be preserved in perpetuity for passive recreation. POWWW continues to work with these organizations to preserve and maintain the woodlands.
Jonathan's Woods is a fantastic resource for local residents. In addition to maintaining the water quality of nearby lakes and streams and increasing property values, it makes it possible to hike all the way from Cedar Lake in Denville to the Hawk Watch on Wild Cat Ridge.
POWWW is a member of the New York/New Jersey Trail Conference and is working with them to create and map hiking trails that will link Jonathan's Woods to the extensive network in northern New Jersey and southern New York State.
POWWW welcomes participation of anyone interested in its activities, whether hiking, trail maintenance or learning more about preserving and enjoying the beautiful natural landscape around us.

Annual Reports

Board Members

President: Jim Florance
Vice President: Michael Leone
Secretary: Richard Holford
Treasurer: Geoff Millington
Board of Trustees
Dave Blinder, Jim Florance, Gad Gruenstein, John Happy, Richard Holford,
David Kallas, David Landry, Michael Leone, Maggi Liebig, Geoff Millington, 
Nora O’Rourke, Jonathan Randall, Judy Rothstein, Judith Schleicher, Jeff Scheidecker.